What are the four foundations of mindfulness

9.43  ·  7,184 ratings  ·  824 reviews
Posted on by
what are the four foundations of mindfulness

The Four Foundations of Mindfulness in Plain English by Henepola Gunaratana

In simple and straightforward language, Bhante Gunaratana shares what the Buddha said about mindfulness in his instructional talks and how we can use these principles to improve our daily lives, deepen our mindfulness, and move closer to our spiritual goals. While this book is based on a classic text, the Satipatthana Sutta, its presentation is thoroughly modern in Bhante’s trademark plain English style.

Based around one of the Buddhas must succinct yet rich explanations of meditation, The Four Foundations of Mindfulness in Plain English can be read as a stand-alone volume either before or after the bestselling Mindfulness in Plain English. Newcomers will find it lays strong groundwork for mindfulness practice and gives them all they need to get started right away, and old hands will find rich subtleties and insights that will help consolidate and clarify what they may have started to see for themselves.
File Name: what are the four foundations of mindfulness.zip
Size: 68511 Kb
Published 17.10.2019

Monk Radio: Four Foundations of Mindfulness

Notes to the Introduction

The modern Theravadan Buddhism and the Vipassana or Insight Meditation Movement promote satipatthana as key techniques for achieving mindfulness , promoting "mindfulness" as meaning careful attention instead of the recollection of the dhamma. The separate terms can be translated as follows:. While the latter parsing and translation is more traditional, the former has been given etymological and contextual authority by contemporary Buddhist scholars such as Bhikkhu Analayo and Bhikkhu Bodhi. According to Bodhi, while "establishment of mindfulness" is normally supported by the textual context, there are exceptions to this rule, such as with SN Traditionally, mindfulness is thought to be applied to four domains, "constantly watching sensory experience in order to prevent the arising of cravings which would power future experience into rebirths. In the Satipatthana Sutta the term sati means to remember the dharmas, whereby the true nature of phenomena can be seen.

The philosophy of Buddhism is contained in the Four Noble Truths. All corporeality, all feelings and sensations, all perceptions, all mental formations and consciousness, being impermanent, are a source of suffering, are conditioned phenomena and hence not-self anicca, dukkha, anatta. Ceaseless origination and dissolution best characterize the process of existence called life, for all elements of this flux of becoming continually arise from conditions created by us and then pass away, giving rise to new elements of being according to one's actions or kamma. All suffering originates from craving, and our very existence is conditioned by craving, which is threefold: the craving for sense pleasures kama-tanha , craving for continued and renewed existence bhava-tanha , and craving for annihilation after death vibhava-tanha. This is the truth of the origin of suffering.

The second foundation of mindfulness, mindfulness of feeling, involves noticing the affect tone—pleasure or displeasure—that comes bound up with every sense object, whether a sensation or a thought. With the third foundation of mindfulness, mindfulness of the mind, it becomes a little more evaluative. We are asked to notice, when there is attachment present in the mind, that the mind is attached. The same thing happens with aversion, also called hatred or resistance. If it is arising in the mind, then we can notice that the mind is beset by aversion. The idea is not, as I understand it, to compare the two states of presense and absence. These are subjects familiar to all students of Buddhism.

The four foundations of mindfulness, presented most prominently in the Satipatthana Sutra, is the Buddha’s fundamental teaching on meditation. Common to all Buddhist traditions, it is a systematic guide to practicing mindfulness in progressive stages. Full awareness of the.
a brush with death a penny brannigan mystery


Jane 2 Comments. Ever wondered about mindfulness and what the four foundations of mindfulness are? If so, this post is for you! Before I share the four foundation of mindfulness, let me share with you what mindfulness is. Mindfulness in everyday life is the ultimate challenge and practice. Mindfulness is described by Jon Kabat-Zinn


5 thoughts on “The Four Foundations of Mindfulness in Plain English by Henepola Gunaratana

  1. In this excerpt from Bhante Gunaratana’s book Four Foundations of Mindfulness in Plain English, the great Theravada teacher explains why all practitioners should meditate on the Four Foundations of Mindfulness, at every stage on the Buddhist path. Mindfulness practice has deep.

Leave a Reply